Carrot Cake

21 Mar

Sorry for the delay in posts. I’ve been on a diet the past two weeks so I have been trying to stay away from cooking food that’s not on my diet! I couldn’t stand not cooking anymore and just had the urge to bake. Since we had a whole bag of carrots recently purchased it was evident I needed to make carrot cake! But… I can’t take credit for this recipe. I just got it online here. I had never made a carrot cake before so I decided it was about time! Don’t worry…I just had a taste, didn’t totally throw my diet out the window 😉

Ingredients

  • 4 eggs
  • 1 1/4 cups vegetable oil
  • 2 cups white sugar
  • 2 teaspoons vanilla extract
  • 2 cups all-purpose flour
  • 2 teaspoons baking soda
  • 2 teaspoons baking powder
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 2 teaspoons ground cinnamon
  • 3 cups grated carrots
  • 1 cup chopped pecans
  • 1/2 cup butter or margarine, softened
  • 8 ounces cream cheese, softened (I used Neufchatel. It has 1/3 less fat than regular cream cheese. You can find it right next to the regular cream cheese
  • 4 cups confectioners’ sugar
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • 1 cup chopped pecans (optional)
  1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees F (175 degrees C). Grease and flour a 9×13 inch pan ((I used two 9 inch rounds. I think they’re prettier :] ))
    I grated my carrots on my own. If you do too, I suggest removing some of they extra liquid by putting the grated carrots in a clean dish towel and squeezing out the extra liquid.
  2. In a large bowl, beat together eggs, oil, white sugar and 2 teaspoons vanilla. Mix in flour, baking soda, baking powder, salt and cinnamon. Stir in carrots. Fold in pecans. Pour into prepared pan.
  3. Bake in the preheated oven for 40 to 50 minutes, or until a toothpick inserted into the center of the cake comes out clean. Let cool in pan for 10 minutes, then turn out onto a wire rack and cool completely.
  4. To Make Frosting: In a medium bowl, combine butter, cream cheese, confectioners’ sugar and 1 teaspoon vanilla. Beat until the mixture is smooth and creamy. Stir in chopped pecans. Frost the cooled cake.

    Enjoy!

    Print Version

Leave a Reply

